Permitless Concealed Carry In FL During Emergency Evacuations Is Signed Into Law

TALLAHASSEE, FLORIDA — Governor Rick Scott signed 44 bills into law Thursday afternoon, one of which will allow Florida residents to carry concealed firearms –without a permit– during the event of an emergency evacuation for 48 hours. The 48-hour period may be extended per the governor.

SB 290 — Carrying a Concealed Weapon or a Concealed Firearm – This bill allows a concealed weapon or firearm to be carried for 48 hours during a mandatory evacuation order declared during a state of emergency.

The bill (SB 290), which the Florida House approved by a 86-26 vote back in April, was drafted as a response to Hurricane Katrina when many gun owners faced charges after they took their firearms with them when fleeing their homes.

Brandon is the founder of Concealed Nation and is an avid firearm enthusiast, with a particular interest in responsible concealed carry. His EDC is a Glock 27 that holds Hornady 165 gr FTX Critical Defense rounds, and rides comfortably in an Alien Gear Cloak Tuck 2.0 holster.
desktop view
Mobile view
Protect yourself with Virginia Concealed training. Get certified now!